WSC Logo for Eventbrite.png

November 6-8, 2016 | Marriott Cornhusker Hotel | Lincoln, NE


Schedule subject to change. 

Day 1 | Sunday November 6

2:00 PM-5:00 PM

LES SunShares Community Solar Project Tour-$10 per person

3:00 PM-6:00 PM

Attendee Check-In | Exhibitor Set-Up

Day 2 | Monday November 7

Attendee Check-In| Exhibits Open

7:00 AM-8:15 AM

7:00 AM-8:15 AM

Continental Breakfast Sponsored by Fraser Stryker, PC, LLO

Conference Co-Chairmen’s Welcome

John Hansen, Adam Herink, Dan McGuire

Welcome to Lincoln

Mayor Chris Beutler

Welcome Remarks

David Bracht, Nebraska Department of Energy

8:15 AM-8:45 AM

Senators Panel

Senator Haar, Senator Mello, Senator McCollister, Senator Pansing Brooks, Senator Schilz

Moderator: John Hansen, Nebraska Farmers Union

8:45 AM-9:45 AM

Break Sponsored by Tradewind Energy, Inc.

9:45 AM-10:15 AM

Breakout 1: Wind/Solar Economic Development

Rick Nelson, Custer Public Power

Greg Ptacek, City of Neligh, NE

Moderator: David Rich, NPPD

Breakout 2: LES Solar Program Portfolio: Understanding Rate Implications

Scott Benson, LES

Moderator: Tim Yager, OPPD

10:15 AM-11:15 AM

Luncheon Sponsored by Enerparc

CEO’s Presentation

Kevin Wailes, LES; Pat Pope, NPPD; Tim Burke, OPPD

Moderator: Stephen Bruckner, Fraser Stryker, PC, LLO

11:30 AM-1:00 PM

1:15 PM-2:15 PM

Breakout 1: Operation and Planning of the Electric Grid During Turbulent Times

Casey Cathey, SPP

Moderator: Derek Sunderman, Tradewind Energy, Inc.

Breakout 2: Wind Turbine & Solar Zoning Regulations

Tom Swierczewski, Bluestem Energy Solutions, LLC

Tim Polz, SoCore Energy, LLC

Liz Doerr, Zoning Administrator for Knox & Antelope Counties

Moderator: David Levy, Baird Holm, LLP

2:15 PM-2:45 PM

Break Sponsored by Geronimo Energy

2:45 PM-3:45 PM

Community Solar: Texas Public Power Style

Shannon Wagner, CPS Energy

Moderator: Mike Degan, Kutak Rock, LLP

4:00 PM-5:00 PM

Breakout 1: Renewables Impact on Southwest Power Pool Markets: SPP Market Update

Ron Thompson, NPPD

Erin Cathey, SPP

Moderator: Jennifer Allyn, Sempra U.S. Gas & Power

Breakout 2: Utility-Scale Wind & Solar Technology, Cost & Performance Trends: Nationally & in Nebraska

Mark Bolinger, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Moderator: Dan McGuire, American Corn Growers Foundation

5:30 PM-6:30 PM

Networking & Social Time Sponsored by Husch Blackwell

Day 3 | Tuesday November 8

7:00 AM-8:30 AM

Attendee Check-In | Exhibits Open

7:00 AM -8:30 AM

Continental Breakfast Sponsored by Kutak Rock, LLP

8:30 AM-9:30 AM

Rural Agriculture Economy & Effects of Renewables

Tom Budler, BHE Wind, LLC

Ernie Goss, Creighton University

Moderator: David Gardels, Husch Blackwell, LLP

9:30 AM-10:15 AM

Break Sponsored by Stahl, Bernal, Davies, Sewell & Chavarria, LLP

10:15 AM-11:15 AM

Breakout 1: R-Project Update

Thomas Kent, NPPD

Moderator: Mick Baird, Invenergy, LLC

Breakout 2: Wind Energy Workforce, Economic Development & Wind for Schools

Suzanne Tegen, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Jerry Hudgins, UNL

Larry Flowers, G4 Wind, LLC

Moderator: Dan McGuire, American Corn Growers Foundation

11:30 AM-1:00 PM

Luncheon Sponsored by Invenergy, LLC

2016 Dierks-Preister Wind Energy & Solar Power Pioneer Award Recipients

Wind Turbine Sound-Just the Facts

Ryan Callahan, Tech Environmental

Moderator: John Hansen, Nebraska Farmers Union

1:15-2:15 PM

Breakout 1: Bat Research in Nebraska

Zachary Warren, UNL

Michael Whitby, UNL

Moderator: Jeff McPeak, Olsson Associates

Breakout 2: Solar for Farms & Ranches

Jim Jenkins, Rancher

Art Tanderup, Farmer

Moderator: Michael Shonka, Solar Heat & Electric, Inc.

2:30 PM-3:00 PM

Closing Remarks & Participant Feedback

Conference Co-Chairs: John Hansen, Adam Herink, Dan McGuire